My Goals!


One very important part of setting goals is making them known to those important people around you.

There are a number of ways we can do this and there are a number of benefits.  You may also think that are a number of risks.  I know that there are risks to announcing my goals.  One risk is if the goal is not achieved then what will it do to my reputation?  What will it do to my self-esteem?

I see more benefit than risk.  If I am already willing to do the work necessary, then why wouldn’t I want to make a committment to a goal. By announcing to the people who are in my network of support what my realistic goals are then they can be supportive in the best way possible.

I am a leader. I know that about myself.  I am willing to share with you my realistic goals for the upcoming skating season.  My goals are to qualify for the upcoming US Olympic Long Track Speed Skating Trials for the 2014 Winter Olympic Games.  The trials are to be held in the fall of 2013.  This coming season staring now (September 2012) and lasting through March 2013 is when I can achieve the times necessary for each distance.  According to the current rules, the 500 meter race requires at time of 39.00 seconds or better.  The 1000 meter race requires a time of 1:16.08 and the 1500 meter race requires a time of 1:57.96 or better.

So I have the goals clearly in front of me.  I intend to start racing this coming weekend (9/29/2012). I will skate some local time trial races in Milwaukee as well as some Masters competitions in Milwaukee and Salt Lake to try to achieve these times.

By sharing with you my goals I have a better chance of achieving what I set out to do.  Yes, it takes commitment and responsibility.  I have done this all my life in many other areas and it has always paid off for me.  Even when my goals were unrealistic and I failed, I learned something and was able to move on to the next challenge with my new-found insight.  I am able to put that knowledge and wisdom into my next venture and be more successful.  It is not so much how other people view me but how I view myself.  I am doing this work to get where I want to go. I am willing to take the risk of announcing my goals to you and the world so I can better achieve them.  Please follow me on this path and share your goals with the world.

Please leave a comment for discussion

