Overtraining Update


6 weeks ago I posted about my overtraining. I have been working very hard at recovery since then. I am back to training hard and plan on racing very soon.

Here is what I have done on general principles for my recovery. I hope you can learn from what I have gone through.

First, I had to recognize that I was overtrained. Sometimes that can be hard. I have gotten better over the years. Soreness is normal, tired is normal, deep down fatigue is not. Then I stop digging the hole that I put myself in through overtraining.

The shift needs to be very fast, just like recovering from an acute injury. No more intense workouts for a while. Since speed skating is a power sport, I need to be off the ice for a couple of weeks at least. I need to be flexible with my thinking and be ready to adapt quickly. My Coach Nancy Swider-Peltz, Sr and I need to develop a plan and be able to change daily based on my feed back and her knowledge and wisdom. Active rest, and recovery work.

I have used various combinations. Early in the process I used walking, stretching, stationary bike, yoga, and swimming. Saunas, cold tubs, whirlpools, massages and rolling my legs with “the stick” daily, are additional tools. Recovery work is almost as time-consuming as regular training. If I do the work, I get the results, period.

I have kept track of my HRV number using my ithlete device daily. When I start to get higher numbers indicating I am better rested, then I can add some easy but stimulating work. When I do my stationary bike work I can add some sprints at first. Maybe a little jogging. I need to be careful about any impact that could hinder recovery. Then some easy skating. I was very careful to stop skating hard or back off when I felt fatigue again. Then some easy weight work, again just for stimulation. A lot of stationary bike work, and swimming. The key for me is that it takes a certain number of heart beats at low intensity to recover. A nice walk can be very beneficial, especially with my wife Maripat and our dog Lilly.

Now that I have increased slowly to full speed training, I can be ready to race again. Sometimes the process of overtraining and recovery can have a silver lining. I will only see that in retrospect. We will see.

Lilly my smiling off ice training partner.

Lilly my smiling off ice training partner.

One thought on “Overtraining Update

  1. Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of information on your site.

    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hello there, You have performed an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and in my opinion recommend to my
    friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

Please leave a comment for discussion

