Balance And Priorities


Balance is a fine art.  I like to use the analogy of walking on a beam.  When I started out on this journey the beam was very wide.  Falling off was not so hard, or very costly.  As I have become more conscious, the beam has gotten narrower and tougher to stay on.  The rewards for staying on are much higher and the pain of falling off are greater as well.  I know I will fall now from time to time, it is part of life, so is pain.  But I can get back on the beam faster now and with less of a wound that heals faster.  I am more sensitive to being off balance.  I know better now.  I can stay on for longer periods of time and that is a great reward.

Balance is essential to my life.  It is probably easier to talk about not having balance.  We all know the effect of being off balance.  We are out of focus, inefficient, unproductive, exposed to injury and disease.  Being in balance is just the opposite.  We are focused, productive, efficient, healthy, happy, content and serene.  This is what I strive for.  I am more sensitive to being off balance today.  I can make necessary corrections so that I can stay on the beam more easily now.  It has been a learning process like anything else.  The benefits are applicable to all areas of my life.  Since they affect all areas of my life then I must give balance the priority that it deserves, top.  I think it is interesting that most of us spend about 90% of our time looking over the edge and trying to stay in balance than anything else.  Focusing on the problems to balance rather than the good parts of being in balance and continuing what works for us.  Finding out what works and keep doing it and refining it little by little.

Priorities are the foundation of good decision making.  I have done a lot of work to keep my priorities straight.  In keeping them straight I can make good judgements about where I am, where I want to go and how to get there.  If I am confused about my decisions I can revisit my priorities and usually the decisions become clearer.  I keep my priorities in the order of God first, family second, work third and recreation fourth.

I know a few people that are very busy but always seem to have time for the most important things.  That to me is an example of having my priorities straight.  I am reminded of an old saying that anything that is urgent is rarely important, and anything that is important is rarely urgent.

This helps me figure out my timing of my actions as well.  Sometimes the best ideas are also the simplest.

1140_586763424673765_1810058230_n

3 thoughts on “Balance And Priorities

  1. Bruce, you made me think of what Jesus said to his disciples while here on earth in bodily form, as recorded by Matthew in chapter 7:13,14… “Enter through the narrow gate, for wide is the gate and broad is the the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate, and narrow is the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” I hope that many find the narrow way. It requires a life of intentional balance…not a haphazzard thing… but thank God His grace is there to hold us up and His mercy abounds to lift us back when we make mistakes and “hit the pads”. : )

  2. Wise words on many levels, Bruce. Balance is so critical in many sports and pursuits, certainly in skating, from the most basic physical capacity, to what we need to be able to perform well – not too tense, not too relaxed, to managing the many trade-offs and opposing forces that must be “balanced” just right for everything to work just right. Thanks for taking time out to reflect on and remind us of the fundamental importance balance plays in all we do.

  3. Pingback: You Have to Start Somewhere | Enlightened Lotus Wellness

Please leave a comment for discussion

