Mental And Emotional Support


Over time I have built a network of support.  Part of my network is for my mental and emotional health.  I operate on many different levels, physical, mental, emotional and spiritual.  I need to tend to my mental health just as I would my physical health.

Everything starts with a thought.  If I stay isolated with my own thoughts, and not sharing what is deep down, what is going on in my mind, I will develop some very sick thinking.  I need to get those thoughts out into the light of day.  I need to see them in a mirror.  Then I can start to heal.  When I start sharing my deepest thoughts with someone I trust, I start getting better.  I start the healing process by seeing and then changing the way I think.  By changing my thought process I can affect all areas of my life.

I am not alone.  I cannot get better by myself.  I need some outside influence.  It is important for me to realize that I have other people in my life that share my path.  I can say that I share a path with people who are my same age and background.  I can find someone who shares a path with me in many areas of my life.  I grew up as a self-reliant person.  I felt that I needed to do things myself and with little help from those around me.  This concept helped me to forge my own way, be accountable and responsible to myself.  My self-esteem was built upon my own free will and was reflected by my accomplishments.  I believe that this made me unique to the world.  It is true that there is no one exactly like me.  I have learned that if I look for those differences then the world is a very cold and lonely place.  If I look for the similarities, then the world is an inviting, open, and all-inclusive place that I can find help and support.  I used to think that asking for help made me weak.  I know now that great men of courage ask for help.  I have a humility now that helps me find my rightful place in the universe.  I am but a small part, not the center.  I can realize that I am not alone in my journey.  I can find help and support in any part of my life.  I can find the similarities in so many areas of my life if I look for them.

I find people to share with, in many walks of my life. These are my “peer groups”.  I can separate my life into many meaningful areas and I can seek out groups that can help me find solutions to my problems.  It is not possible to find one person that can support me in all areas of my life.  I need to seek out many different support groups or people to support the many areas of my life.  By being honest about my problems I can seek solutions from people who have had similar issues.  They may be just a little farther along the road than I am.  I do not need to reinvent the wheel everyday by myself.  I can tap into great resources this way.  I believe that based on my education and background that my possible solutions to any problem are finite.  If I tap into a group, then my choices can have much greater base for possibilities for solutions.  I believe that God can speak to me in a number of ways.  One way is through other people.  Another way is through inspiration.  If I am open to it, solutions can come to me this way.  Tapping into peer groups, or other people that have similar issues can have some profound effects on my ability to help me along my path of learning and growth.  Sometimes even the innocence of a child can provide me with help, if I choose to see it.  I never know what can happen sometimes so I try to be open to all sources of inspiration for help with my mental state of health and well-being.

The important part of this equation is to be as honest with myself as possible.  The great news is that there is no limit to good mental and emotional health.  The product of my mental health is physical, emotional and spiritual.  I am happier, more accepting, peaceful and serene if I work at it.  The journey of a thousand miles begins with the first step.  I take that first step everyday and enjoy my walk.

Longs Peak Colrado

Longs Peak Colrado

2 thoughts on “Mental And Emotional Support

  1. Bruce, I totally agree with your direction on asking for and accepting assistance. I think of it as taking on a competition without any coaching – good luck with that. Most folks would prefer to hear the prespective and informed advice of a respected friend, someone who has been there, done that, perhaps. Yes, inspiration also can come from those support people too. When each of us was placed on this planet, I doubt that we were told, “O.K., now figure it all out for yourself.”
    Bruce, your honest manner of seeking and accepting assistance [solutions] is itself – beneficial to others.
    Thanks again,
    Jeffrey

  2. Pingback: A recent report commissioned by UK highlighted how men are often ‘in the dark’ when it comes to emotional and relationship difficulties in their life | echosfromtheabyss

Please leave a comment for discussion

