12 Ways To Cross Train


Speed skaters are great cross trainers.  We only have long track ice for about 6 months of the year.  We train almost year round, so we have to be good at doing other things that can translate to the ice.  Unfortunately there is no true substitute for long track speed skating.  The only way to get better is to do the real thing.  We can build our motors off the ice, but developing the correct and most efficient technique can only be done on long track ice.

Here are some groups of things we can do at this time of the year to help us be a successful.

1. Weight training.   Weight training is essential.  This is my time for heavy weight training.  A hard on ice speed skating session is like a hard weight workout.  When we get on the ice in late summer and early fall I start phasing out my heaviest weight workouts.

2. Cardio training.  This can take many forms.  Running, cycling, swimming, cardio tennis, stairs, etc.

3.  Slide board.  We can do short track, but it not quite the same as long track.  We can do slide board to stay in the skating position and concentrate on technique.  We can do imitation skating (dryland).  We can do cross over turn strokes up the side of a hill.

4.  Inline skating.  I personally do not inline.  A lot of people do, and find it beneficial.

5.  Yoga.  Spending an hour or so each week doing yoga helps in so many ways.

6.  Competition.  In the past I have participated in other competitive events, running, triathlons, etc.

So here are my 12 ways I train without being on the ice.

What do you do to build your motor as well as help your technical expertise of skating?  I would love to hear from you!

P.S. I am heading to Denver this week for 777 Captain school.  I will have to be creative with my training.  Being in Denver and home for a couple of days each week will be a challenge.  I am looking forward to a new phase of my career at United.

Bruce Conner on the ultraslide!

Bruce Conner on the ultraslide slideboard!

10 thoughts on “12 Ways To Cross Train

  1. Hi Bruce,

    Where did you get the ultraslide. Is this the name of the product, made by who? I’d like to get one of those!

    Going on the 777! You’re loosing two engines! you sure about the move? but hey you can spy on the galley with all those cameras! And you can fit my E190 in one engine;-)

    Thanks,

    Didier

    • The slide board is made by Ultraslide.com. Tell them I sent you. Great product! I know Barry Slotnick the owner.
      Yes they phased out the 400 here at ORD. I will fly the 777 out of IAD for a year or so before coming back to ORD. Not my choice but it works. Thanks.

    • Inline skates are heavier then ice skates. Technique is extremely important and heavy skates will modify my technique. It is counterproductive for me. Others find it very helpful though and can make the transition. Great question!

  2. It’s the best time to make some plans
    for the future and it is time
    to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could
    I want to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions.
    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read more things about it!

  3. Hi, I do think this is a great web site.
    I stumbledupon it I am going to return yet again since i have bookmarked
    it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you
    be rich and continue to help other people.

  4. Great Post. I actually enjoyed reading it. Very often I find it hard to find informative yet
    practical fitness info. You made some interesting points.
    I will make sure to bookmark your blog and visit on a regular basis.

    Thanks again for creating this helpful article.

Please leave a comment for discussion

