Training Intensity


When approaching the starting line this December for the Olympic trials, I will remember July.

My mantra that I repeat is:  Grateful to be here and skate, I have done the work, adjusting as I go, trusting to get the results I am supposed to have.

July:  I have done the work.

Having spent many years of working up to this, this is the peak of training volume and intensity.

Training everyday, working very hard, making progress.  The support system, preparation, food, equipment, coaching, sleep, recovery, therapy, all set me up to make progress.  Some of you race bikes, race and skate in-line, race triathlon, skate short track, etc.  Whatever it is you do, make it intense.  When approaching the starting line I remember the maximum effort bike ride,  the weight lifting to failure, the static skating position sits for many minutes.

My mental preparations are there for me in the last stages of my race.  When feeling the lactic acid hit my legs, when tunnel vision comes because of oxygen deprivation, I remember the intense work in July.  This is where the race is won.  The part of the journey that changes me into my better self.  Transformation by the work.  Revealing my true character and what I am on this earth to do.

Make it a great July with progress in volume and intensity. Serious, fun, and inspirational to others, be an example.

Can’t wait for ice in Milwaukee in 4 weeks.  Happy dance!!!

Resting with the satisfaction of a job well done, in the bank for the coming season.

Flying my first trip after finishing training on the B-777, onward and upward!

At the starting line

At the starting line

4 thoughts on “Training Intensity

  1. I have a feeling that you will be flying faster on the ice than in the air. Planes can be so limiting.
    Stay strong and balanced,
    Jeffrey

  2. It’s great to remember the groundwork when you race, so you can leave the worries behind. You know you are prepared. So it’s time to race.

Please leave a comment for discussion

