My Skating Family


My Skating Family.

Back on the ice.  First time on blades since last March.

There is a cycle each year of training and racing, ending with the last race in March.  Beginning this season with time off and recovery, then easy training progressing to harder work with volume and intensity.

This is the stage when we skate again.  Based on my work schedule, skating 3 times per week is the optimum.  Weight training, stationary bike work for cardio and recovery, and yoga will fill in between the skating and work.

All athletes have support networks.  Part of my support network is my skating family.  We are a tribe of like-minded, dedicated people.  Since I train by myself most of the time, it is great to reconnect with my group.  This is the time we get to  catch up.  Having face time with my coach is great.  Connecting with Jeffrey, Brian and Nancy, Jr. and finding out how their summer has gone.  Facebook updates are great but looking into someones eyes is indispensable.

A great characteristic of my group is shared support.  We all have something to offer to the group and to help each other achieve our goals.  Support comes in many different forms, everybody brings something unique.  My wife Maripat provides the basic platform of support (essential) to me and our group, while taking photos, video, and adding encouragement, adjacent to the ice.

I am at home among my training group and coach.  Motivated to get better, faster, smoother, more efficient, always making progress.

Wobbly at first on my blades.  I relearn pretty quickly how to get that fine balance for skating.  Foreign and familiar at the same time, describe the first couple of times on the ice.  In the beginning it is only technical work.  Going fast and hard comes later.  Patience with the process and the stroke yields results.

Any day I can skate is a great day!

Any day I can be with my skating family is also a great day!

My Skating Family. L to R, Jeffrey Swider-Peltz, Nancy Swider- Peltz, Jr, Brian Hansen, Maripat Conner (wife), Bruce Conner, Nancy Swider-Peltz, Sr (Coach)

My Skating Family.
L to R, Jeffrey Swider-Peltz, Nancy Swider- Peltz, Jr, Brian Hansen, Maripat Conner (wife), Bruce Conner, Nancy Swider-Peltz, Sr (Coach)

One thought on “My Skating Family

Please leave a comment for discussion

