Faster As A Master Book Intro Part 3 of 3


Faster As A Master Book Intro Part 3 of 3

Good Luck in Sochi!

Sports are one of the ways that I connect with in a tangible, measurable way to my own inward journey of self exploration.  Chasing meaning rather than trying to avoid discomfort creates better health.  Going after what creates that meaning in my life and trusting  that I can handle the stress that follows, sets me up for a journey to wholeness.  Any activity, external or internal, can become the vehicle for this important journey.  However, the principles are universal.

Let me give another example.  Another passion of mine is flying airplanes.   An eye doctor told me at age 16, when I received my first pair of glasses, that I would never fly airplanes for a living.  It was widely believed then, that you needed perfect vision and military training to become an airline pilot. Despite those warnings, I am now at the top of my field as a United B-747 Captain.  Not accepting the fact that I needed glasses as a barrier, I broke it down before it could become a reality for me.

When I was young and began skating, I could not imagine how rich my life would become because of this sport.  I have reconnected with my passion for skating, training, goals and achievement as a masters athlete.

I am part of an incredible growing masters sports movement.  In speed skating we have an international as well as national governing bodies that oversee the rules and sanction masters’ competitions.  Age groups start at 30 with 5 year increments ending in the 85+ category for men and women.  Masters only races can be found many times each year around the globe including yearly World All Around and Sprint championships.

Skating has come full circle for me.  Through my sport I have learned much about myself, it exposes me like no other sport.  If my body is not responding the way I expect, there is always a deeper reason. It is up to me to find its cause, and a way to correct it.  If I am off balance, physically, mentally, emotionally, or spiritually, the ice and my competitors will give me immediate feedback.  It is up to me then to regain and maintain my balance to move forward in skating, and my life.  Skating is a mirror for how to live my life, to learn, change and grow.

I like to do things that are challenging and thus rewarding.

With imagination to dream it, breaking down my limiting beliefs, the willingness to do the work, I can achieve almost anything!

To break through barriers and to change my life, I must change my thinking.  Every action starts with a thought.

Here is one of my favorite quotes that reflects my philosophy:

“We are what we repeatedly do; excellence then is not an act but a habit.”         Aristotle

This is what I believe and what I strive for on my current path.

I have divided this book into three sections.  The first deals with telling parts of my story and thereby building a case for what I have done.  The second deals with breaking down barriers and limiting beliefs.  The third details all the tools I have used in my life to facilitate and enhance my journey.

I hope you will be inspired to successful living and journeying toward wholeness.

US Olympic Speed Skating Trials 2013, photo by Jerry Search

US Olympic Speed Skating Trials 2013, photo by Jerry Search

4 thoughts on “Faster As A Master Book Intro Part 3 of 3

  1. Excellent.  I am not proofing and the plural is tricky, but do you want to say, “Sports are” and not “is?”  I trust your good judgment. Jeffrey

    ________________________________

Please leave a comment for discussion

