Training Principles Part 7: Mental Training


Training Principles 7: Mental training.

“Faster as a Master” book is now available to purchase directly from me.  Go to my website http://www.brucewconner.com to order.  Barnes and Noble Nook e-book version can be downloaded now and itunes will be available in just a few more days.

I just helped my coach Nancy Swider-Peltz, Sr with a masters long track speed skating camp in Milwaukee, Wisconsin for the last two days.  We had 30 excited, motivated, talented, masters skaters from the midwest and east coast.  What a great time to share our knowledge and wisdom so we can all get better.  Great to see old friends and make new ones.  I love being with my skating family and people that share my passion for skating excellence!

Mental training has three aspects for me. The first is rehearsal and visualization. While I am learning a new skill I need to rehearse and visualize a good process and outcome. As I make progress I will continually rehearse whatever I am working on to reinforce what I have learned to cement the neural connections in my brain and the links to my muscles.

The next part is to make a list of positive affirmations to create the landscape of where I want to go. By creating this future picture of myself I set up the conditions for me to live into the reality I have created.

The last aspect is preparation for my competition. I will take the rehearsal and visualization and apply it to the competition at hand. This preparation starts weeks and sometimes years before and ends when I cross the finish line and stand on the podium. I have developed a routine for competition and a mantra that I repeat to myself as I approach the starting line. This is when I apply my mental training to get the most out of my physical preparation. During the race I only have control of my execution, the physiology of my muscles is already set.

Next week I will discuss “Rest” as the last part of training.

Thanks for your continued support for this blog, my website, and my book!

500 Meters race start US Single Distance Championships January 2012, Milwaukee, Wi, Photo by Steve Penland

500 Meters race start US Single Distance Championships January 2012, Milwaukee, Wi, Photo by Steve Penland

Please leave a comment for discussion

