General Training Principles: Part 1of 2


General Training Priciples: Part 1

Good luck to all my Masters Speed Skating brothers and sisters competing in Calgary this weekend at the Masters World All-Around Championships.  All of you will have fun, enjoy the competition and family of masters, as well as set seasons best, personal bests and World Records!

One of my early memories of growing up is doing crazy things. Little did I know that this kind of play was the beginning of my training. Bart (one of my two younger brothers) and I were probably about 6 and 8 years old at the time. We had skateboards, the kind that were about 2 feet long with metal roller skating wheels bolted to the bottom. Our driveway from the house to the sidewalk was sloped slightly, so we could get a little speed rolling downhill, maybe a fast walking speed. After mastering the skateboard on the driveway, we tried some other stuff. Bart liked hanging upside down on the monkey bars across the street in the park. When we started to go down the driveway on the skateboard in a handstand, it seemed like a logical progression from our other activities. This helped both of us to develop strength and balance early. Certainly, it helped Bart in his gymnastics career, and it also helped me in my balance for skating.

Making time to put in the work can be hard. I was asked the other day about how I find the time to train at this level. My answer was that I don’t find the time, I make the time. This goes back to setting goals and priorities. Following through with a training plan is easier when I make the time. It has taken years to put myself into a job that allows blocks of time off to pursue my other passions. By carefully looking at our schedules, we can figure out ways to make time to pursue our goals and keep our priorities straight. We all have unexpected things come up in our lives that require us to put us off our training schedules. Adaptation with balance is the key to making progress.

Athletic training, in general, has two major parts: building the motor (strength, endurance, cardio), and then developing the technique to apply it. My knowledge and expertise has been developed by trial and error and by talking to other athletes on similar paths. The lessons I’ve learned in training may be actively applied to other parts of life. My training regimen has eight parts.

Practicing the sport
Warm-up, cool-down, volume, and intensity
Strength work
Cardiovascular work
Periodization
Stretching
Mental training
Rest

Next week I will expand on general training principles.

IMG_0002

6 thoughts on “General Training Principles: Part 1of 2

  1. Pingback: Training Principles Part 1 | Faster As A Master

  2. I follow your terrific blog, as do many of my running pals. Here’s a video I made on getting faster and stronger, featuring some of the fastest women runners on the planet:
    Older Faster Stronger Trailer:

    I also do book reviews on my blog and will sked your book to highlight soon!

    All best,
    Margaret Webb
    mmwebb@sympatico.ca

    • Mary, Thanks for your kind words. I am glad you and your running pals are getting the message about age health and living well. I love your trailer, great stuff! I hope you like my book, it should be ready in a couple weeks. All my best, Bruce

  3. Looking forward to your upcoming articles. After recently reading Kelly Starrett in his book, I would replace “stretching” on your list with “mobility” which expands and changes the category. From the book: “I define mobilization as a movement-based, integrated, full body approach which takes into account all of the elements that limit movement and performance. These include short and tight muscles, soft tissue and joint capsular restriction, motor-control problems, joint range-of-motion dysfunction, and neural dynamic issues. In short, mobilization is a tool to improve your capacity to move and perform efficiently.”

    Excerpt From: Kelly Starrett & Glen Cordoza. “Becoming a Supple Leopard.”

    Wondering if you have run across this, or similar.

    • Thanks for your input Kimon. I agree with the concept of mobility and stretching. As we are intimately aware of this subject we can expand our definition and application. As we expand our wisdom therough sharing like this we can apply these principles more effectively to our lives physically and mentally. Keep up the good work! Bruce

  4. Nice article! Great things start from small beginnings. Athletes do a lot of hard work to perform in their sport. Practice always makes us better.

Please leave a comment for discussion

